Tucker Max - I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell
Label: Citadel Press
By: Patton
Nov 01 08
   12 Comments



I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell by Tucker Max is definitely a “guy guy’s” book. By that I mean, if you are male and heterosexual, you will probably fall in love with this book. The self-proclaimed “asshole” shares various stories of him drinking profound amounts (or his friends doing so) and the antics that ensue. Not only does he have a full chapter called “Blow-job Follies” and one called “The Most Disturbing Conversation Ever,” every story is presumed fact and not fiction.

The book was released in 2006, and still is getting notoriety on The New York Times Bestsellers’ List. Of course, as the author states in the beginning, names are mostly nicknames and some dates are obscure in order to not incriminate himself or otherwise. So each chapter gives you a date range of when the stories happened, and when he wrote them.

There is a story in one of the first chapters where him and friends get trashed in the South and start a fight with a bunch of rednecks.

Yes this book does read a lot like the tales of a typical American frat boy, that one reads about. There is a story in one of the first chapters where him and friends get trashed in the South and start a fight with a bunch of rednecks. There is a gun, a mechanical bull, the Southern Wrestling Association, and it is all true. Though these stories can come off crude, I found myself chuckling aloud.

The author has been criticized as a womanizer, idiot, vile, repugnant, and has made people say (as it reads on the back of his book), “Because of you, I don’t believe in God anymore. No just God would allow someone like you to exist.” While others say things like, “You’re an artist of the highest order and a true humanitarian to boot. I’m in both shock and awe at how much I want to be you.” So I guess it goes both ways, like most things tend to do.

Though some of you may find him offensive, and yes his stories can be very chauvinistic, more than half the time you will find his stories amusing.

Though some of you may find him offensive, and yes his stories can be very chauvinistic, more than half the time you will find his stories amusing. For me, they reminded me of old stories and crazy things that have happened to me and my friends (we all have them). This author just was smart enough to write them all down and eventually publish them.

So, if you are interested in a bit of humorous non-fiction, involving drunks, rednecks, girls and lots of sex, this might be the book for you. Published by Citadel Press (http://www.kensingtonbooks.com), I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell is the third, (and only book left in print) from Tucker Max. According to imdb.com, a movie is going to come out in Spring 2009 based off this book with the screenplay also written by Max, in which Matt Czuchry plays the protagonist and Traci Lords is set to star.

Besides the movie, it seems the next book from Tucker Max, Assholes Finish First is set to come out in 2010 according to Simon Spotlight Publishing. If you want to know more on the author or the book, check out the following sites:

http://www.tuckermax.com
http://ihopetheyservebeerinhell.com




(12 comments)
Patton  -  Writer
 
Albuquerque, NM
F - Attached
Posted: 11/09/08 at 04:36 PM 
 comment comment comment comment (sorry I thought my review was lonely)
MeaganFilth  -  Model
 
Charleston, SC
35 / F - Attached
Posted: 11/11/08 at 07:01 PM 
I love that book and I also hate it.
I love it cuz its funny as hell and quite entertaining but I hate it alot ...mostly because I'm a woman and he's a pig. He's a funny, funny manpig but overall it's good if you can take it light heartedly and not try not to get too offended. :D
Patton  -  Writer
 
Albuquerque, NM
F - Attached
Posted: 11/11/08 at 09:02 PM 
 I actually feel the same way. I struggled because I would laugh a lot, but he really is such a fuckin' pig. That's basically why I say its more of a guy's book, or guy's humor... hehe. Thanks for the comment!!
MasonMiles
 
Eugene, OR
41 / M - Single
Posted: 11/28/08 at 05:32 PM 
Great book, but I really doubt that all of the stories are true. If he really drank and used as much as he says he said he did, theres no way he remembered everything so perfectly. Even if his friends told him about it the next day. I didnt read anything about him bringing a tape recorder and recording everything, every night, all night. True or not though, he has a great sense of humor, and I hope for his sake that his stories were just embellished.
DollfaceKillah  -  Model
 
Bayville, NY
43 / F - Single
Posted: 12/18/08 at 11:56 AM 
this book is crazy..i've read a few stories!!...everyone should check out a book called "SKINEMA" by Chris Nieratko..its supposed to be porn reviews but its really all TRUE fucked up sex stories of his life..and its ALL TRUE..i know..two of the
"reviews" are about me...haha..
xoxox
Jersey  -  Moderator
 
Jersey, 0
42 / F - Other
Posted: 12/19/08 at 12:31 PM 
why does this say CD review?
Patton  -  Writer
 
Albuquerque, NM
F - Attached
Posted: 12/22/08 at 09:50 PM 
 Because we haven't updated the magazine yet to include a book reviews section, so all movie and book reviews will be put here in the meantime. Strange I know.
SweetCurtis  -  Staff Photographer
 
Las Vegas, NV
45 / M - Single
Posted: 01/14/09 at 11:53 PM 
On par with bumfights. This guy deserves a big nutpunch from humanity.

There's no reason for people to behave without class and no reason to treat people without dignity.

Your review compels me to actually pick up the book, but only if nobody is looking.


Edited By: SweetCurtis - 01/14/09 at 11:54 PM
Melodramatic  -  Model
 
Port Orange, FL
33 / F - Attached
Posted: 01/24/09 at 01:09 PM 
I love Tucker Max weather his stories are true or not.
I can't wait to see the I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell movie and cant wait to read his second book Assholes Finish First.
Tadpole
 
Lake Villa, IL
47 / M - Single
Posted: 01/25/09 at 05:28 PM 
Hell, I'd never even heard of Tucker Max before this review, now I REALLY want to read I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell!
KatKartel  -  Model
 
Northridge, CA
39 / F - Single
Posted: 02/20/09 at 05:03 PM 
I am still shocked at how some college party animal with a wealthy background that decided to have a career in doing absolutely nothing but drinking and f*cking got a book deal and is now considered a writer! I mean come on...he wears pink GAP boxers! I hate those preppy arrogant type of guys.

With that being said it took me 2 days to finish this book and I became completely obsessed with Tucker Max! Mostly because I am drawn to assholes an this one happens to be one of the funniest out there.

One of the last stories about the Oil Riggers in Texas was boring and I decided not to read it halfway through. I also thought the grading system for girls and his drunk scale at the end was pointless since we had already read all of these separately as we read each story.

At the end of it all he inspired me to do some writing and I am now an official "blogger" telling stories of my own
Nehalennia
 
Saint Petersburg, FL
33 / F - Attached
Posted: 03/11/09 at 02:26 PM 
best book EVER


Latest Features
Eon McKai: Porn For The Rest of Us

A Beautiful Kind of Ugly

The Tiger Lillies

Kraig Grady: Anaphoria

(Hed)pe

I Am Ghost

Applegeeks

Battle Circus

Kottonmouth Kings

Paul Booth: The Art Fusion Experiment

Unsustainable Stance: Henry Rollins Interview

Latest CD Reviews
Deconbrio - Obsessions of a False Idol

Tucker Max - I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell

Slipknot - All Hope is Gone

Mitch Hedberg - Do You Believe in Gosh?

The Tiger Lillies - Seven Deadly Sins

Palahniuk - Rant: The Oral Biography of Buster Casey

Scars on Broadway - Scars on Broadway

She & Him - She & Him: Vol. 1

Mike Doughty - Golden Delicious

Enter Shikari - Take To The Skies

remember   
forgot password  |  join


Mag - Features:
• Eon McKai: Porn For The Rest of Us
• A Beautiful Kind of Ugly
• The Tiger Lillies
• Kraig Grady: Anaphoria
• (Hed)pe

Mag - CD Reviews:
• Deconbrio
• Tucker Max
• Slipknot
• Mitch Hedberg
• The Tiger Lillies

 

 
 
  > The Girls   > Forums   > Community   > Groups   > Magazine   > Info   > Nation   > Help   > Affiliates   > 18 U.S.C. Section 2257 Back To Top  
Copyright © 2003-2022 Deviant Nation. All rights reserved.